Follow

How can I see changes on my app as I make them?

Preview your changes.
Refresh your app.
Some changes require you to clear your cache.
Clear your cache.


PREVIEW

Under General Settings in your Content Manager, you will find a section called Preview. Preview contains an iPhone simulator that you can use to see how your app will appear on a smart device. You will also find a link that you can click to open your app in a new browser tab.


 

YOUR APP IS LIVE

Your app is live and accessible via its unique URL (an example of which is pictured above) the moment you create it. To view any of your changes, just access it from any web browser on your computer or smart device. If native is included in your package, you can also download your native app from Apple App Store, Google Play, BlackBerry World, or the Windows Phone Store. Please note that you have to let us know when you're ready to put the app in the app stores, and that the process may take up to two weeks.
 

REFRESH APP

If you don't see your changes reflected in the app right away, don't fret! Just give it a minute; changes should take effect automatically within a minute or two of making them as long as you're connected. If you don't see the changes in a couple of minutes (or you just can't wait to see them!), just refresh your app once or twice:

1. From your app, click the Menu button in the top left to open the Menu pane.
2. Scroll to the bottom of the menu and click Refresh App or Update App. (Clicking Refresh App might change the button into Update App, in which case you just need to click it again.) From here, you can also see how long it has been since your last update.


 

CLEAR YOUR CACHE

If this doesn't work, try clearing your device’s cache. Some functions actually require that you clear your browsing cache to take effect on your device. This helps to refresh the browser and allows you to recreate the experience of a brand new user on the app. If you're using a native app, just try uninstalling it and downloading it again.

The method for clearing your browsing cache will depend on your device and browser. You can find the instructions for clearing cache on some common devices and browsers on this website and below:

Chrome (Method 1):
1. From the Chrome menu, click Preferences > History > Clear Browsing Data
2. Make sure Empty Cache is selected along with anything else you want to delete.
3. Click Clear Browsing Data at the bottom-right.

Chrome (Method 2):
1. Click the three-bars button to the right of the URL field.
2. Click Tools > Clear Browsing Data.
3.Make sure Empty Cache is selected along with anything else you want to delete.
4. Click Clear Browsing Data at the bottom-right.

Firefox:
1. In the toolbar at the top, click History > Clear Recent History.
2. Select Everything from the drop-down menu and make sure Cache is selected.
3. Click Clear Now.

Safari:
1. With your Safari browser open, click Safari, then Preferences, and navigate to the Privacy tab.
2. Click Remove All Website Data and then Remove Now on the pop-up.

iOS (iPhones and iPads):
1. From the home screen, tap the Settings button.
2. On the Settings screen, scroll down and tap the Safari button.
3. In the Safari Settings, tap the button labeled Clear Cookies and Data.
4. On the confirmation screen, tap Clear Cookies and Data.

Android:
1. Open the browser on your Android phone.
2. Tap the Menu key.
3. Tap the More options icon.
4. Tap the Settings button.
5. Tap the Clear Cache button.
6. Verify your choice by clicking the OK button when the verification menu pops up.

Blackberry:
For BlackBerry smartphones running BlackBerry Device Software 4.5 to 5.0:
1. On the Home screen of the BlackBerry smartphone, click Browser.
2. Press the Menu key, and click Options.
3. Click Cache Operations.
4. Click Clear on the corresponding cache items that are to be removed.

For BlackBerry smartphones running BlackBerry Device Software 6 and 7:
1. On the Home screen of the BlackBerry smartphone, click Browser.
2. Press the Menu key, and click Options.
3. Scroll to the very bottom of the options list and locate Clear Browsing Data.
4. Select the desired options and choose Clear Now.

If clearing the cache does not work, please contact Support.
 

FINALIZING DETAILS

To ensure that you don't have to tell everyone to refresh the app, the following is a list of things that should be decided and finalized before you launch your app to your attendees. Making changes to these features after attendees have accessed (and therefore cached) the app on their devices will require them to click Refresh App to clear their cache.

Attendees
• Allowing attendees to add or edit their profiles on the app through the Attendee Settings tab.
• Enabling or disabling Attendee Messaging
• Creating or editing personal schedules through Excel in the Agenda module
General Customizations
• Changing your event name in the Event Info module
• Changing the Polls & Feedback permissions from the Settings tab in the Polls & Feedback module
• Changing the icon, text, or background colour
Images
• Altering and re-uploading the same map image (hint: just change the filename to get around this one!)
• Adding custom icons
• Enabling any of the security layers in the App Security module
• Changing your logos (i.e. Start Page Graphic, Top Header Logo, or Event App Icon in the Branding tab of the Customize module)
White Label
• Hiding the 'Powered By' footer for events using the White Label solution
• Changing the footer text
Showcase Apps
• Changing your gallery's shortcode or name
• Adding or changing the gallery's thumbnail

If you have already made a change that requires attendees to clear their cache, you can prompt everyone to refresh their app using an in-app alert, which you can release from the Alerts section in your Content Manager.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk